Saturday Tag- Top 5 Books About Royalty /Kingdoms I Have Read Or Want To Read And Clue Enters Takes My Ability To… Express The Delay In This Week’s Reviews.

Top 5 Books about Kingdoms/Royalty I Want to Read

Top 5 Books about Royalty I want to Read

Top 5 Book Recommendation Series (Created by Devouring Books- Description From Link)

This Top 5 series started back in October and I kind of lost motivation for making it every week. But it’s back! This is a series of books that I want to read that all have a common theme. Previously on the blog I have focused on witches, werewolves, thrillers, faeries, fairy tale re-tellings and high fantasy. I am going to try and bring this series back for every Saturday.

The schedule for July is:

7/6/19 — Books set at Boarding Schools

7/13/19 — Books about Royalty

7/20/19 — Sequels

7/27/19 — Psychological Thrillers

Rules!

  • Share your top 5 books of the current topic– these can be books that you want to read, have read and loved, have read and hated, you can do it any way you want.
  • Tag the original post (This one!)
  • Tag 5 people

Books about Royalty

I know what you are wondering…. what is with all the tags and what happened to the Witchy Kingdom and Last Seer King Review we were promised? I will explain in tomorrow’s wrap-up but….

 

I knew there would be lessons learned during the Summer Fling and this week I learned two. 1) Don’t try to summarize/review two books in one post. If you want to commit suicide, it would be easier to buy a gun. 2) Don’t try to do that and read/review a second 600ish page novel in the same week because… well see the latter part of number 1. So yeah- bad scheduling and bad idea on my part. Very lucky for me all parties (publishers and authors were very kind about tinkering the schedule) which will be explained in greater detail tomorrow and this became longer than it should’ve been and so <see the gif above. Deep breath>

 

YEAH YEAH OKKK…

So 1) royalty indicates kingdoms and so I had to go with both or I wouldn’t be able to participate and I really wanted to participate so maybe I bent the rules on a couple but work with me people… my brother is in the hospital and ok I’m doing it again.

Anyway…. as the rules indicate this is going to be books I want to read, have read and two will even have both (series)- GO TEAM ME- about royalty and/or kingdom.

And I’m leaving Leigh Bardugo out of it just because everyone is expecting King of Scars and Crooked Kingdom (OH YES I COULD- NIKOLAI IS IN IT– Don’t doubt my way to stick that duology into ANYTHING AND EVERYTHING) but I’m not going to because you expect it. So There <kicks sandbox sand>.

1) The Smoke Thieves (Smoke Thieves Book #1)/Demon World (Smoke Thieves Book #2) By Sally Green 

 

 

 

 

Here’s one of two combination posts. I have read Smoke Thieves and can’t wait to read it’s sequel, The Demon World, which comes out on 8/6. I just received my ARC of The Demon World and am so lucky to be apart of the blog tour! I am only providing the synopsis of Smoke Thieves because I don’t want to spoil anything…

In a land tinged with magic and a bustling trade in an illicit supernatural substance, destiny will intertwine the fates of five players:

A visionary princess determined to forge her own path.

An idealistic soldier whose heart is at odds with his duty.

A streetwise hunter tracking the most dangerous prey.

A charming thief with a powerful hidden identity.

A loyal servant on a quest to avenge his kingdom.

Their lives intersect with a stolen bottle of demon smoke. As war approaches, they must navigate a tangled web of political intrigue, shifting alliances, and forbidden love in order to uncover the dangerous truth about the strangely powerful smoke that intertwines their fates.

 

2) Gravemaidens by Kelly Coon 

I grant you this one might be a little of a stretch but I’m going with it… it involves a kingdom, a ruler and a family casted out in disgrace… I give you GraveMaidens… and it comes out 10/29. I haven’t read it yet. I do have an ARC and I hope to be on the blog tour… <waves at Kelly feverishly>.

Synopsis:

The start of a fierce fantasy duology about three maidens who are chosen for their land’s greatest honor…and one girl determined to save her sister from the grave. 

In the walled city-state of Alu, Kammani wants nothing more than to become the accomplished healer her father used to be before her family was cast out of their privileged life in shame.

When Alu’s ruler falls deathly ill, Kammani’s beautiful little sister, Nanaea, is chosen as one of three sacred maidens to join him in the afterlife. It’s an honor. A tradition. And Nanaea believes it is her chance to live an even grander life than the one that was stolen from her.

But Kammani sees the selection for what it really is—a death sentence.

Desperate to save her sister, Kammani schemes her way into the palace to heal the ruler. There she discovers more danger lurking in the sand-stone corridors than she could have ever imagined and that her own life—and heart—are at stake. But Kammani will stop at nothing to dig up the palace’s buried secrets even if it means sacrificing everything…including herself.

 

3) Kingdom of Souls by Rena Barron- 9/3

 

Um. Can we talk about this book? Yes. Please and thank you. I love you HarperCollins for this Arc.

Magic has a price—if you’re willing to pay.

  • An epic fantasy trilogy with a richly imagined world inspired by the author’s own West African roots.
  • High stake twists, alluring magic, and breathtaking star-crossed romance will have you racing to the final page.
  • An epic fantasy trilogy about about a girl caught between gods, monsters, and her own mother’s schemes.

Born into a family of powerful witchdoctors, Arrah yearns for magic of her own. But each year she fails to call forth her ancestral powers, while her ambitious mother watches with growing disapproval.

There’s only one thing Arrah hasn’t tried, a deadly last resort: trading years of her own life for scraps of magic. Until the Kingdom’s children begin to disappear, and Arrah is desperate to find the culprit.

She uncovers something worse. The long-imprisoned Demon King is stirring. And if he rises, his hunger for souls will bring the world to its knees… unless Arrah pays the price for the magic to stop him.

Inspired by tales of folk magic in her own community, Rena Barron spins a darkly magical tale perfect for fans of Tomi Adeyemi, Leigh Bardugo and Three Dark Crowns.

4) The Written (Emaneska Series Book #1) by Ben Galley

The Written (Emaneska Series Book 1)

I am not done with the whole series but I’m throwing down the gauntlet and telling you to read the whole damn series- and yes this has Kingdoms and Royalty– and some of the royalty is dragons and if you didn’t read my review of the Written? Well here is my review of The Written. 

Here is the second combination post (the next post isn’t a combination because I’ve read them both).

The Series is currently available on Amazon.

Synopsis (of only the Written because again, don’t want to spoil anything): 

His name is Farden. 

They whisper that he’s dangerous. 

Dangerous is only the half of it. 

A spellbook has gone missing from the libraries of Arfell – a very old and extremely powerful spell book from the time of dark elves and demons. Five scholars are dead, the magick council is running out of time and options, and the Arka is once again on the brink of war with the Siren dragon-riders.

It falls to Farden the Written mage to keep the world from falling into chaos. Entangled in a web of lies and politics, Farden must recover the spellbook before an ancient enemy rises, even if it takes journeying halfway across icy Emaneska and back.

In his fight for answers, Farden will unearth a secret that not only shakes the foundations of his world, but threatens the entire future of Emaneska. Sorcery, death, drugs and the deepest of betrayals await.

Welcome to Emaneska.

Tags!

Something of the Book

Adele is Reading 

The Writerly Way

Proud Book Reviews

Books and Dachshunds (I hope I spelled that right)

 

Let’s Chat!

 What did you think? What are your favorite thing about kingdoms and royalty? What are your favorite books about kingdoms and royalty? What books about would you recommend? Don’t forget to comment below so we can chat!

Advertisements

17 thoughts on “Saturday Tag- Top 5 Books About Royalty /Kingdoms I Have Read Or Want To Read And Clue Enters Takes My Ability To… Express The Delay In This Week’s Reviews.

  1. I love the Clue references! Totally made me laugh, funny thing is that I just watched that movie via skype with my best friend, so it really is perfect timing.

    I LOVE YOUR LIST! I am also super hype about Kingdom of Souls and Gravemaidens. I have really wanted to read The Smoke Thieves for a while, and it’s definitely one of the back list titles that I really want to get to, but when reading back list I chose The Poppy War and Mistborn first, so it will have to be when some free time finally opens up in between ARCs.

    But now of course I have to go check out Written and the Shadow Swords series!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Clue is such a cult classic for something that bombed when it first came out. I’m glad you enjoyed it. Like the Golden Girls I can quote it word for word. The Smoke Thieves is really good and the audibles is very well done… same with the Written. 19th Bladesman will just make you hate SJ Hartland which is just a shame because shes really very nice but what she does to Kaell and Val Ques is just wrong. I tweeted at her and Leigh Bardugo at one point and told them to go have tea over Nikolai and Kaell.

      Thanks for inviting me on this Saturday fun. I am glad I got had the distraction between David and the resident that ripped into me for trying to be you know a lifeguard today.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It is just SO good. I love that movie.

        I will have to check out the audiobooks for both of those!!

        I am so glad that you will be joining me on this series, I hope that I can get some others to join as well!

        How is your brother doing?

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Hence the geeking out over In the Hall with the Knife… I will get back to the emails… it’s a wait and see. He has two large blood clots. One on his leg and one in his lung. It’s not good.

          Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Top 5 Books about Royalty I Want to Read – Devouring Books

  3. Pingback: Lessons Learned, A Hideous Heart, Kingdoms That Await, A Goblin Girl To Rule Them All And How Weird Am I? Well I’m So Weird That… All In This Week At Novel Lives – Novel Lives

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

ByThe100thPage

Book talk, reviews and love spread here!

Sometimes Leelynn Reads

Get into my book-ish mind

Siobhan's Novelties

A Perpetual Reader Looking for Unique Reads

The Coycaterpillar Reads

Book News, Reviews and Recommendations

Girl. Books. Wine.

Just a girl who loves wine and books--and Happily Ever Afters

Northern Plunder

I aim to misbehave.

Umut Reviews

Love, collect, read books.

%d bloggers like this: